How They Croaked

Standard

How They Croaked

What a great book! I read this as a preview for a Scholastic Book Talk! I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this!

I can’t decide which was my favorite “death” to read about. After each one, I thought to myself…ohhh, that was my favorite one….lol

So many interesting facts, (and creepy, gory ones too)!
Each chapter is a couple of pages. First interesting facts and a brief life story of each famous person, and how they came to their demise!
And other random facts at the end of each chapter! (Did you know that 3 of the first 5 Presidents of the US died on July 4th?)

A fantastic book for middle grade kids! (I even read a couple of them to my 7 year old)

Rabies, Leeches, Strep, Guillotine….it’s all in here!

To partially quote the last chapter…

“The people in this book didn’t become famous because of how they croaked but because of how they lived.”
The people in this book were doing what they love, and it probably didnt feel like work at all–they were just playing.
“Whatever your story is, if what you are doing is so much fun it feels like you’re just playing, you are onto something very important. When you feel that way, you are doing what you’re meant to do. Don’t let anyone talk you out of it.”

Leave a Reply

